2015-16 Activity

The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences is making great strides in addressing our five grand challenges and this year is no exception.

The College is pleased to announce that we will continue this progress by awarding two new integrative faculty teams with Grand Challenge Grants. These teams were selected from last year’s mini-symposia and each will receive up to $75,000 per year for two years. The teams receiving funding are:

  • Quantifying Soil Capital Value and Soil Connections to Society: Toward Achieving Global Soil Security; Team Leader: Dr. Christine Morgancmorgan@ag.tamu.edu, 979-845-3603
  • Reducing Food Losses in the Developing World; Team Leader: Dr. Elsa Murano,emurano@tamu.edu, 979-862-4551

Each of our grand challenges are multidisciplinary and interconnected across departments. With that said, if you are interested in joining one of the above integrative faculty teams, I encourage you to contact the team leader.

The College is also excited to announce that we have selected four NEW big idea mini-symposia topics. As we have done in the past, the spring 2016 mini-symposia will encourage networking among Texas A&M AgriLife faculty and increase awareness of related faculty research. Be on the lookout for the release of the mini-symposia dates later this spring.

Topics will include:

  • Climate change, natural resources, and biodiversity monitoring and adaption; Leader: Dr. Tom Lacher, tlacher@tamu.edu, 979-845-5777
  • Coffee Hub: Coffee research as a tool to improve the economy of millions of farmers; Leader: Dr. Leo Lombardic, l-lombardini@tamu.edu, 979-458-8079
  • Increasing global water supplies through water reuse and desalination by overcoming technical barriers and public perception; Leader: Dr. Clyde Munster, c-munster@tamu.edu, 979-847-8793
  • Nexus between plant vector biology and animal/human vector biology; Leaders: Dr. Cecilia Tamborindeguy, ctamborindeguy@ag.tamu.edu, 832-779-8070, and Dr. David Ragsdale, dragsdale@tamu.edu, 979-845-2510

Thank you to each of our faculty members that helped make 2015 a success for our Grand Challenges efforts.

Comments are closed.